Colorado law requires you to report any accident that results in personal injury or death or that cause any property damage. Even minor car accidents that cause minimal car damage are required to be reported. When you are injured in an accident, it is important to file a police report in order to protect yourself. After all, without a police report it will just be your word versus the other driver’s word. Here’s how to file a police report in Colorado.
If you believe your accident was clearly the fault of the other driver, and the police report backs up that belief, your dealings with the insurance company will be much easier than if it is only your word against the other driver’s word. Filing a police report is a necessary requirement for obtaining maximum compensation after a crash.
In many cases, if an auto accident does not seem particularly serious, the other driver may try to convince you not to call the police. Often, the driver may not want the police to show up because he or she has no auto insurance or might even be impaired. If you do not call the police, the other driver can potentially give you insurance information which is no longer valid, and even contact information which is not valid.
Later, you can be very dismayed to find that you are unable to receive any compensation for your accident for one of those reasons. In short, it is always a good idea to have a police report following an auto accident. Stay strong and do not let the other driver talk you out of calling the police. Once the police have arrived and taken the information, ask when and where you can obtain a copy of the report. Once you have the report, make sure your personal injury attorney receives a copy of the report.
How to File a Police Report in Colorado
If the police was not present at the scene of the accident, you can still file an accident report online at mydmv.colorado.gov. If the accident is reported by an individual, the report will not get investigated but it will be kept as a record of events. When filing the report, be sure to state the details of the accident, the time and date of the accident, location of the accident, and the other driver’s information if you were able to obtain it. It must be filed within 60 days of the accident.
It is important to know that calling 911 after an accident does not automatically result in a full police investigation of the accident and the details surrounding the crash. Police only investigate if the car accident damages exceed $1000, if a driver does not have proof of insurance, or if there was an injury or death.
Contact Our Denver Car Accident Attorneys
When you’re injured in a car accident, it is important to report this accident to the police immediately. A police report will be invaluable when trying to collect the compensation you need to recover after an accident. Contact Gregory A. Gold of the Gold Law Firm today for a free consultation at (303) 694-4653. We can help you obtain the money you deserve and will protect your rights throughout the process. Call us today.