Operating a motor vehicle is a complex task requiring complete concentration on the part of the driver. Any task that takes the driver’s focus away from driving, even for a second, can increase the chances of an accident occurring. Sadly, tens of thousands of Americans are injured or killed in car accidents across the United States each and every year. Many of these accidents are preventable, and are caused by distracted drivers who were driving while texting. Distracted driving was the cause of 3,166 fatalities in the United States in 2017, according to statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
Distractions from driving can come in many forms, and will fall into one of more of the following categories, as outlined by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC):
- Manual – any task that requires the removal of one or both hands from the wheel
- Visual – any activity that involves taking the driver’s eyes off the road, even for a moment
- Cognitive – anything that takes the driver’s mind off the road and their focus away from the task of driving
One of the reasons texting while driving is so dangerous is that it falls into all three of these categories. The driver is distracted from thinking about driving when they begin mentally composing their text, they remove their hand or hands from the wheel in order to type the text, and they look away from the road and from surrounding traffic when typing and sending the text. When travelling at 55 mph, sending or receiving a text for 5 seconds will take the driver’s eyes off the road for a distance comparable to the length of a football field. This creates not only a dangerous situation for both the driver and passengers of the vehicle, but also for the other vehicles on the road and pedestrians nearby.
Distracted Driving Law in Colorado
Colorado has recently passed legislation making cell phone laws tougher on distracted drivers. In February, 2019, a new Senate bill called “Use of Electronic Mobile Devices While Driving” received unanimous approval by the Colorado Senate Transportation and Energy Committee. Prior to this new legislation passing, it was only drivers 18 years of age and under who were prohibited from mobile device usage while driving. Now, regardless of the age of the driver, it is illegal for all drivers in Colorado to have a mobile device in their hand unless the vehicle has been brought safely to a complete stop.
Contact Our Denver Distracted Driving Accident Attorneys Today
If you or someone you love has been injured in a distracted driving accident, we can help. Our Denver distracted driving accident lawyers know how difficult life can be after a devastating accident. We know that injured accident victims need help now to pay for medical expenses, lost wages, and more. That’s why we work aggressively for all our injured clients to help them obtain the maximum compensation for their injuries – as quickly as possible. Contact Gregory A. Gold of the Gold Law Firm today for a free consultation at (303) 694-4653.