The effects of an automobile collision can be devastating. Car accidents can result in painful injuries, expensive medical treatment and lost time from work. All of these things can be stressful and cause financial hardship. Similarly, if a loved one is killed or seriously injured in a car accident a family may also experience emotional and financial hardships. The car accident attorneys of the Gold Law Firm are able to help you access necessary resources to, and obtain the recovery necessary, to compensate you and your family for your loss. Here are the important automobile collision information you need to know.
In July 2003, Colorado became a ‘tort law’ state. Currently, Colorado law states that any person who causes an automobile collision is responsible for the damages resulting from that collision. The law also requires that all automobile owners have both property damage and bodily injury automobile insurance coverage. Property damage insurance covers damage to vehicles or any other type of property. Bodily injury insurance covers damages to a person.
In addition to property damage and bodily injury insurance, all insurance companies in Colorado are required to offer their insured drivers uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. This insurance coverage is very important if you or a family member have been injured by a person who does not have any insurance (uninsured) or does not have enough insurance to pay for all of your damages (underinsured). In either of these instances an injured person looks to their own insurance company to make sure that they receive complete compensation for their injuries.
If you are involved in an automobile collision it is very important to contact an attorney as soon as possible. It is important for the attorney to evaluate all possible insurance coverage available and obtain important information regarding the circumstances of the accident. Contact the Gold Law Firm for assistance in understanding your rights and what steps you should take following an accident.
Statute of Limitations
The amount of time a person has to bring a personal injury claim is called the Statute of Limitations. Colorado law sets forth the Statute of Limitations for all personal injury claims. All claims must be filed within the Statute of Limitations or else the claim will be barred forever.
Generally, the Statute of Limitations for an automobile accident is 3 years from the date of the accident or collision. In some circumstances the Statute of Limitations may be shorter or longer. It is important to contact an attorney immediately after an accident to ensure that your claim is filed within the appropriate time frame.
Special rules apply to claims against the State of Colorado or the federal government. It is extremely important to know that Colorado law requires that any person who has a claim against the State of Colorado must provide written notice to specific persons within 180 days of the date of the injury. Failure to file this written notice will result in the claim being barred forever. It is critical to contact an attorney immediately if you believe your claim involves the State of Colorado.
Contact The Gold Law Firm For Help Today
If you or a loved one were injured in a car accident because of the negligence of another, consider putting our experienced Denver car accident attorneys on your side. At the Gold Law Firm, we work hard to achieve the maximum compensation for all of our clients. Contact attorney Gregory A. Gold or Sommer Luther of the Gold Law Firm today for a free consultation at (303) 694-4653, or by filling out the contact form on this page.
The Gold Law Firm serves the victims of personal injury and insurance disputes throughout the state of Colorado, including Denver, Akron, Brush, Byers, Fort Morgan, Greeley, Holyoke, Strasburg, Weldona, Wiggins, and Yuma.